BIO

Life Changing.

Travis Hunter is an author, screenwriter, director and public speaker. His first novel, The Hearts of Men, was originally published in 2000 by Hunter’s own company, Jimrose Publishing House. During the 2000 Book Expo America in Chicago, Hunter received an offer from Random House for the re-release of The Hearts of Men. And so began a successful evolution of published adult novels: Married but Still Looking, Trouble Man, A One Woman Man, Something to Die For, A Family Sin, Dark Child and Momma’s A Virgin. Inspired by his work with teens as the founder of The Hearts of Men Foundation, Hunter created a young adult series: Two the Hard Way, At the Crossroads and On the Come Up which were published by Kensington Publishing Group. Hunter is a native of Florence, S.C., a veteran of the U.S. Army and graduate of Georgia State University where he majored in Film and Video and minored in Psychology. Always an avid reader, Hunter parlayed his passion for the written word into a career as an author, playwright and film maker which has produced 11 published novels, an Off Broadway stage play for the adaptation of his novel, Married but Still Looking and a short film which he wrote and directed based on his novel, Dark Child. Hunter lives in a suburb of Atlanta. He is the founder of The Hearts of Men Foundation, Inc., through which he mentors and provides meaningful opportunities for underprivileged and at risk teens.

AH

Reading Alex Hailey’s, The Autobiography of Malcolm X [Order Here] was life-changing. As a kid, I couldn't appreciate the book's depth. My loving great grand-parents, Rosa and Jim Charles, insulated me from society's ills. At twenty-two, I reread The Autobiography of Malcolm X while serving in the United States Army; stationed in South Korea. The book was an eye-opener on the true black experience. Before reading about the life of Malcom X, I believed the American Dream was available to any and everyone, but upon completion I realized life was different for Black people in America. I became more aware of the race relations and the deep-rooted racism in the so-called land of the free. However, Malcom’s bold stance and unflinching love for his people made me feel honored and I became unapologetically proud of my skin. So, as I pen these novels, stage plays and films, I always make a conscious effort to use this prestigious platform for good and never to perpetuate ignorance.

The Hearts of Men Foundation

The Hearts of Men Foundation, Inc. is a nonprofit organization focused on advancing the lives of underprivileged teenagers in the field of education, athletics, human services, and the arts.

The Hearts of Men Foundation, Inc. founded by Travis Hunter in 1999, forges links between the world of the underprivileged and productive citizens making a valuable contribution to society.

The Sequel to “Married But Still Looking” .

A Novel by Travis Hunter


I’m thrilled to be able to share the news with you that my twelfth novel, Married, But not Really, is set to be released this fall on October 26th! In the tradition of Dark Child and The Hearts of Men, my newest story follows Married But Still Looking – and the bittersweet workings of a fate that follows.

Pre-Order